Steelers Name Six Team Captains


PITTSBURGH ―The Steelers selected six players today to serve as team captains for the 2009 season. Two new players joined four holdovers from the 2008 season as team captains through by a vote of their teammates

Wide receiver Hines Ward was voted a team captain for the fifth consecutive year (2005-09) and will be joined by quarterback and offensive co-captain Ben Roethlisberger, who was named team captain for the second consecutive season. 

Outside linebacker and reigning NFL Defensive Player of the Year James Harrison was named one of the team's defensive co-captains for the first time in his career. Harrison had previously served as a co-captain of the Steelers' special teams in 2007.

Inside linebacker James Farrior joins Harrison as a defensive co-captain. Farrior was named a captain of the Steelers' defense for the sixth consecutive season in his eight years with the team (2004-09).

Steelers' kicker Jeff Reed was voted the team's special teams captain for the second consecutive year and will be joined by first-time special teams co-captain Keyaron Fox. Fox ranked second on the Steelers in 2008 with 21 special teams tackles (14 solo).

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content