Harrison Selected Steelers' 2008 Most Valuable Player


Harrison Selected Steelers' 2008 Most Valuable Player
For the second straight year, Steelers linebackerJames Harrison was recognized for his outstanding play by his teammates who voted him the team's Most Valuable Player.

Harrison, who was named to his second straight Pro Bowl as a starter, broke the team's single-season record for sacks this year by posting a career-high 16 sacks, breaking the 24-year old record of 15 by Mike Merriweather in 1984. Through 15 games, Harrison ranks fourth in the NFL with his 16 sacks and has a league-best seven forced fumbles. He has a career-high 100 tackles, which ranks third on the team, and has a team-best 34 quarterback pressures.

Harrison, a two-time GMC Sierra Defensive Player of the Week this season, earned the AFC's Defensive Player of the Week honors against the San Diego Chargers in Week 11 as he finished with one sack, one forced fumble, an interception (returned 33 yards) and five tackles in the Steelers' 11-10 victory at Heinz Field.

Harrison is the first outright back-to-back winner of the team's most valuable player since linebacker Levon Kirkland won the award in 1998-99. Harrison's 2008 selection represents the 15th time a linebacker has been selected Steelers MVP since 1969.

Following is the list of Steelers MVPs since 1969:

1969                WR          Roy Jefferson
1970 DT Joe Greene
1971 LB Andy Russell
1972 RB Franco Harris
1973 WR Ron Shanklin
1974 S Glen Edwards
1975 CB Mel Blount
1976 LB Jack Lambert
1977 QB Terry Bradshaw
1978 QB Terry Bradshaw
1979 WR John Stallworth
1980 SS Donnie Shell
1981 LB Jack Lambert
1982 CB Dwayne Woodruff
1983 PK Gary Anderson
1984 WR John Stallworth
1985 WR Louis Lipps
1986 LB Bryan Hinkle
1987 LB Mike Merriweather
1988 LB David Little
CB Rod Woodson
1989 WR Louis Lipps
1990 CB Rod Woodson
1991 LB Greg Lloyd
1992 RB Barry Foster
1993 CB Rod Woodson
1994 LB Greg Lloyd
1995 QB Neil O'Donnell
1996 RB Jerome Bettis
1997 RB Jerome Bettis
1998 LB Levon Kirkland
1999 LB Levon Kirkland
2000 RB Jerome Bettis
2001 QB Kordell Stewart
2002 WR Hines Ward
LB Joey Porter
2003 WR Hines Ward
2004 LB James Farrior
2005 NT Casey Hampton
WR Hines Ward
2006 RB Willie Parker
2007 LB James Harrison
2008                LB           James Harrison

* * 

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content