Davis, Moats honored with annual awards


Award season is in full effect at the UPMC Rooney Sports Complex, and Sean Davis and Arthur Moarts are the last winners, receiving the Pittsburgh Chapter of Pro Football Writers of America's annual awards.

Davis, the Steelers' second-round draft selection in 2016, received the "Joe Greene Great Performance Award," given annually to the Steelers top rookie. Davis has played in all 15 games in 2016, starting eight of them. He became the first Steelers' rookie defensive back to start a season opener since 1997.

Davis said he was honored to win an award named after Greene, especially with the play of fellow rookies Artie Burns and Javon Hargrave, who all push each other to be better.

"I've been in a pretty cool situation," said Davis. "I have gotten to get to know these guys. Hargrave plays on the defensive line, but I've gotten to know him on a personal level because of our rooming situations. I was Artie's roommate throughout OTAs. So I got to know him. We were always talking about, 'Let's take over. Let's make plays. Let's do everything we can to be on the field.' The same thing with Hargrave. Every time we travel, at the hotel we are roommates. We all think alike. We all want to be the best at our position. We all want to dominate. At such a young, not young, but as rookies, to think like that, I feel like that is special. And it makes sense why those three names came up. We are making plays because we think like champions. Just because we are rookies, we don't want to be the slack of the team, stuff like that. I just feel like we all have a similar mindset and same goals."

On the season, Davis has started in seven of the 15 games he has played in and recorded 60 tackles, ranking fourth on the team, and is tied for fifth among all NFL rookie defensive backs. He has also added a half-sack and one interception.

"It wasn't the start that I had envisioned," said Davis. "But I work. And I worked through adversity. I work at problems. I never give up. I know what I am capable of. I am just blessed to be out there to showcase my skillset and put all that hard work out on the field. I am an optimistic guy. I never worry. I never freak out. And this is just how things all worked out."

Moats was named the recipient of the "The Chief Award," which was established in honor of Steelers' founder, Arthur J. Rooney, Sr., and is presented annually to a member of the Steelers' organization that best exemplifies the spirit of cooperation with the media that he embodied.

Moats is a player who always makes himself available to the media, through good and bad.

"I don't feel like there's any question I shy away from or anything that doesn't need to be talked about," said Moats. "I love getting my message out there. I feel like all of us in here have a great relationship. We're all able to communicate with each other on a, I want to say personal level. I feel like it's always easy to talk to you all."

Moats has played in 15 games in 2016, starting five of them. He has recorded 3.5 sacks, including a single-game career high 2.0 sacks against Cleveland on November 20.

And while his playing days are far from over, he is thinking about life after football, a life that could find him in the media.

"I definitely would. I like your jobs," said Moats. "You're still around the game, it's not coaching and it's fun. Any time I get a microphone and am able to talk, I definitely like that."

"The Chief Award" Winners

1988Dan Rooney2003Mike Logan
1989Dwayne Woodruff2004Jerome Bettis
1990Merril Hoge2005Alan Faneca
1991Gerald Williams2006Brett Keisel
1992Tunch IlkinDeshea Townsend
1993D.J. Johnson2007Alan Faneca
1994Rod Woodson2008Ryan Clark
1995Levon Kirkland2009James Farrior
1996Chad Brown2010Ben Roethlisberger
1997Darren Perry2011James Farrior
1998Jerome Bettis2012Casey Hampton
1999Lee Flowers2013Ike Taylor
2000Jerome Bettis2014Cameron Heyward
2001Lee Flowers2015Ramon Foster
2002Hines Ward2016Arthur Moats

"Joe Greene Great Performance Award" Winners

1984WR Louis Lipps2001LB Kendrell Bell
1985P Harry Newsome2002OG Kendall Simmons
1986LB Anthony Henton2003S Troy Polamalu
1987CB Delton Hall2004QB Ben Roethlisberger
1988RB Warren Williams2005TE Heath Miller
1989SS Carnell Lake2006WR Santonio Holmes
1990TE Eric Green2007P Daniel Sepulveda
1991TE Adrian Cooper2008LB Patrick Bailey
1992FS Darren Perry2009WR Mike Wallace
1993LB Chad Brown2010C Maurkice Pouncey
1994RB Bam Morris2011OT Marcus Gilbert
1995QB Kordell Stewart2012OT Mike Adams
1996FB Jon Witman2013RB Le'Veon Bell
1997CB Chad Scott2014WR Martavis Bryant
1998OG Alan Faneca2015LB Bud Dupree
1999WR Troy Edwards2016S Sean Davis
2000FB Dan Kreider

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content