Brown voted MVP by teammates

Steelers wide receiver Antonio Brown was recognized for his outstanding play today by his teammates who voted him the team's 2011 Most Valuable Player. It is the first time in Brown's two-year career that he has received the honor, and he became only the sixth Steelers' wide receiver to win the award in the last 40 years.

Brown, who was recently named to his first Pro Bowl as a kick returner, broke the Steelers' single-season record for all-purpose yards (2,048). Brown also set career highs in punt returns (30), punt return yards (325), kickoff returns (24) and kickoff return yards (664). His 27.7 kickoff return average is the third-highest in the NFL. Brown was named AFC Special Teams Player of the Week for his Week 12 performance, when he returned a punt 60 yards for a touchdown.

In addition to his success on special teams, Brown emerged as one of the Steelers' top threats at wide receiver. He surpassed 1,000 yards receiving for the first time in his career, and scored his first career receiving touchdown this season. Brown is also third in the NFL with 26 receptions on third downs.

Brown has come on strong during the second half of the season. In his last seven games, Brown has 29 receptions for 587 yards, which are both team highs. His 20.2 yards per catch average is good for second-best in the NFL during that span. Brown also led the team in either receptions or receiving yards for a seven-game stretch that started in October and ended in mid-December.

Brown is the first Steelers wide receiver to be named team MVP since Hines Ward in 2005.

* *

Following is the list of Steelers MVPs since 1969:

1969WR Roy Jeffeson1991LB Greg Lloyd
1970DT Joe Greene1992RB Barry Foster
1971LB Andy Russell1993CB Rod Woodson
1972RB Franco Harris1994LB Greg Lloyd
1973WR Ron Shanklin1995QB Neil O'Donnell
1974S Glen Edwards1996RB Jerome Bettis
1975CB Mel Blount1997RB Jerome Bettis
1976LB Jack Lambert1998LB Levon Kirkland
1977QB Terry Bradshaw1999LB Levon Kirkland
1978QB Terry Bradshaw2000RB Jerome Bettis
1979WR John Stallworth2001QB Kordell Stewart
1980SS Donnie Shell2002WR Hines Ward
1981LB Jack LambertLB Joey Porter
1982CB Dwayne Woodruff2003WR Hines Ward
1983PK Gary Anderson2004LB James Farrior
1984WR John Stallworth2005NT Casey Hampton
1985WR Louis LippsWR Hines Ward
1986LB Bryan Hinkle2006RB Willie Parker
1987LB Mike Merriweather2007LB James Harrison
1988LB David Little2008LB James Harrison
CB Rod Woodson2009QB Ben Roethlisberger
1989WR Louis Lipps2010SS Troy Polamalu
1990CB Rod Woodson2011WR Antonio Brown

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content