Skip to main content

Bell Named Steelers' 2014 MVP

Steelers running back Le'Veon Bell was recognized for his outstanding play today by his teammates, who voted him the team's 2014 Most Valuable Player. It is the first time Bell has received the award and the seventh occasion in team history that a running back was named Steelers MVP. Bell is the first running back since 2006 (Willie Parker) to be named team MVP.

Bell has established himself as one of the best running backs in team history in just his second season. His 2,115 yards from scrimmage is a new single-season franchise record, and his 77 receptions for 774 yards are also single-season team records for running backs. Bell has totaled 11 touchdowns (eight rushing, three receiving) on the season. 

Currently, Bell has rushed for 1,341 yards on the season, which is good for second in the NFL and is tied for fifth on the team's all-time single-season rushing yards list. He is one of four players in NFL history to record at least 1,300 rushing yards and 750 receiving yards in the same season (Marshall Faulk, Steven Jackson and Brian Westbrook).

Earlier this season, Bell recorded 200 yards from scrimmage in three straight games to join Walter Payton (1977) as just the second player in league history to accomplish that feat. Since making his NFL debut Week Four of the 2013 season, Bell leads the NFL with 3,374 yards from scrimmage.

Bell's Steelers MVP honors come one year after he was honored with the Joe Greene Great Performance Award, given annually to the team's top rookie.

The following is the list of Steelers MVPs since 1969:

1969 WR Roy Jeffeson 1993 CB Rod Woodson
1970 DT Joe Greene 1994 LB Greg Lloyd
1971 LB Andy Russell 1995 QB Neil O'Donnell
1972 RB Franco Harris 1996 RB Jerome Bettis
1973 WR Ron Shanklin 1997 RB Jerome Bettis
1974 S Glen Edwards 1998 LB Levon Kirkland
1975 CB Mel Blount 1999 LB Levon Kirkland
1976 LB Jack Lambert 2000 RB Jerome Bettis
1977 QB Terry Bradshaw 2001 QB Kordell Stewart
1978 QB Terry Bradshaw 2002 WR Hines Ward
1979 WR John Stallworth LB Joey Porter
1980 SS Donnie Shell 2003 WR Hines Ward
1981 LB Jack Lambert 2004 LB James Farrior
1982 CB Dwayne Woodruff 2005 NT Casey Hampton
1983 PK Gary Anderson WR Hines Ward
1984 WR John Stallworth 2006 RB Willie Parker
1985 WR Louis Lipps 2007 LB James Harrison
1986 LB Bryan Hinkle 2008 LB James Harrison
1987 LB Mike Merriweather 2009 QB Ben Roethlisberger
1988 LB David Little 2010 SS Troy Polamalu
CB Rod Woodson 2011 WR Antonio Brown
1989 WR Louis Lipps 2012 TE Heath Miller
1990 CB Rod Woodson 2013 WR Antonio Brown
1991 Greg Lloyd 2014 RB Le'Veon Bell
1992 RB Barry Foster

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content