Team captains are announced


It's defined in many ways, one being "a person who has commanding authority or influence."

That definition fits for the Steelers 2018 team captains.

Steelers' players voted on Monday for the captains, and Coach Mike Tomlin announced the results to the players before they came off the practice field.

This year's captains are Ben Roethlisberger, Maurkice Pouncey, Cameron Heyward and Chris Boswell.

"What an honor," said Roethlisberger. "I don't take the number of years being voted captain for granted. The guys that are on that list, to be a part of it and be with Pouncey, Cam again, and Boz is special. It is voted on by your teammates. To me that is one of the ultimate compliments you can get from your guys, to be voted captain."

Roethlisberger has been the team's offensive captain 10 times in his career, including eight consecutive seasons. Pouncey is an offensive captain for the second time, previously selected with Roethlisberger in 2013.

"It's an awesome accomplishment," said Pouncey. "The way I look at it, no matter who the captains were picked, I was a leader in my group. It's fun, it's great. It's great to be acknowledged like that. I like playing my role regardless."

Heyward, who is in his eighth season, is a defensive captain for the fourth consecutive year.

"It's always an honor," said Heyward. "To be voted by your teammates as a captain, I take a lot of pride in that. I get to represent my teammates. I just look forward to doing that, every day, on and off the field. Holding people accountable as well as myself.

"Whatever is needed by the group, I will do. It's not just one thing. Whatever you need to do at the time, whether it's being tougher on guys, if a guy needs to talk, and understanding a players' point of view and relaying it to the coaches. And on Sundays representing the team the best that I can."

Boswell, who just signed a new five-year deal, is a captain for the first time. The Steelers did not have a special teams captain last year.

"It means a lot," said Boswell. "It doesn't change anything for me. I just have to show up and kick. That is really it. It says a lot that the guys voted me captain, but doesn't change anything I do game to game, day to day. It's good. It's respect that can leave as fast as it got here. I just need to keep proving myself and keep stepping up whenever they need it."

The following are the Steelers' team captains who have been selected during head coach Mike Tomlin's tenure (since 2007):

Table inside Article
2007Hines Ward, WRJames Farrior, LBJames Harrison, LB
Clint Kriewaldt, LB
2008Ben Roethlisberger, QBJames Farrior, LBJeff Reed, K
Hines Ward, WR
2009Ben Roethlisberger, QBJames Farrior, LBKeyaron Fox, LB
Hines Ward, WRJames Harrison, LBJeff Reed, K
2010Heath Miller, TEJames Farrior, LBKeyaron Fox, LB
Hines Ward, WR
2011Ben Roethlisberger, QBJames Farrior, LBArnaz Battle, WR
Hines Ward, WR
2012Ben Roethlisberger, QBBrett Keisel, DE
2013Maurkice Pouncey, CRyan Clark, S
Ben Roethlisberger, QBBrett Keisel, DE
2014Ben Roethlisberger, QBTroy Polamalu, SRobert Golden, S
Shaun Suisham, K
2015Ben Roethlisberger, QBWilliam Gay, CBRobert Golden, S
Cameron Heyward, DE
2016Ben Roethlisberger, QBWilliam Gay, CBRobert Golden, S
Cameron Heyward, DE
2017Ben Roethlisberger, QBCameron Heyward, DE
2018Ben Roethlisberger, QBCameron Heyward, DEChris Boswell, K
Maurkice Pouncey, C