Skip to main content

Heyward and Bryant Earn Steelers' 2014 Pro Football Writers Awards

Steelers defensive end Cameron Heywardand wide receiver Martavis Bryantwere named the 2014 recipients of the Pittsburgh Chapter of Pro Football Writers of America's annual awards.

Heyward received the Pro Football Writers' "The Chief Award," which was established in honor of Steelers' founder, Arthur J. Rooney, Sr., and is presented annually to the Steeler that best exemplifies the spirit of cooperation with the media.

Heyward, in his fourth NFL season, has established a single-season career-best with 6.5 sacks and is currently tied for the team lead in sacks this season. He has never missed a game in his NFL career and his current streak of 63 consecutive games played is tied for the third-longest active streak among defensive ends in the NFL. Heyward's career numbers include 14.0 sacks, 11 pass breakups, one forced fumble and one fumble recovery.

Bryant, the Steelers' fourth-round draft selection in 2014, received the "Joe Greene Great Performance Award," given annually to the Steelers top rookie. Bryant has seen action in nine games with two starts and has recorded 25 receptions for 528 yards and seven touchdowns. He has five receptions of 40 yards on the season, including touchdowns of 94 and 80 yards. His 94-yard touchdown reception on December 7th at Cincinnati was the second-longest pass play in team history. Earlier this season, Bryant set an NFL record with six receiving touchdowns in a player's first four games in the league.

A listing of the award winners include:

"Joe Greene Great Performance Award" Winners:

1984 WR Louis Lipps 2000 FB Dan Kreider
1985 P Harry Newsome 2001 LB Kendrell Bell
1986 LB Anthony Henton 2002 OG Kendall Simmons
1987 CB Delton Hall 2003 S Troy Polamalu
1988 RB Warren Williams 2004 QB Ben Roethlisberger
1989 SS Carnell Lake 2005 TE Heath Miller
1990 TE Eric Green 2006 WR Santonio Holmes
1991 TE Adrian Cooper 2007 P Daniel Sepulveda
1992 FS Darren Perry 2008 LB Patrick Bailey
1993 LB Chad Brown 2009 WR Mike Wallace
1994 RB Bam Morris 2010 C Maurkice Pouncey
1995 QB Kordell Stewart 2011 OT Marcus Gilbert
1996 FB Jon Witman 2012

OT Mike Adams

1997 CB Chad Scott 2013

RB Le'Veon Bell

1998 OG Alan Faneca 2014 WR Martavis Bryant
1999 WR Troy Edwards    

"The Chief Award" Winners:

1988 Dan Rooney 2002 Hines Ward
1989 Dwayne Woodruff 2003 Mike Logan
1990 Merril Hoge 2004 Jerome Bettis
1991 Gerald Williams 2005 Alan Faneca
1992 Tunch Ilkin 2006 Brett Keisel
1993 D.J. Johnson   Deshea Townsend
1994 Rod Woodson 2007 Alan Faneca
1995 Levon Kirkland 2008 Ryan Clark
1996 Chad Brown 2009 James Farrior
1997 Darren Perry 2010 Ben Roethlisberger
1998 Jerome Bettis 2011 James Farrior
1999 Lee Flowers 2012 Casey Hampton
2000 Jerome Bettis 2013 Ike Taylor
2001 Lee Flowers 2014 Cam Heyward

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content