Heath Miller Named Steelers' 2012 MVP

Steelers tight end Heath Miller was recognized for his outstanding play by his teammates today, who voted him the team's 2012 Most Valuable Player. It is the first time in Miller's eight-year career that he has received the honor.

Miller, who was recently named to his second Pro Bowl, was on pace to have his best season of his career. He currently leads the team with 71 receptions, only five short of tying his single-season career high that he set in 2009. Miller already has established career highs for a single season with 816 receiving yards and eight receiving touchdowns.

But due to a right knee injury, Miller was placed on the team's Reserve/Injured List on December 26, 2012 and will miss the season finale versus the Cleveland Browns. If Miller's 71 receptions remain a team high at the end of the season, he will become the first tight end to lead the team in receptions since Eric Green in 1993.  

Miller recently became just the third Steeler in team history to record 400 career receptions, and he also became the franchise's all-time leader in receiving touchdowns by a tight end, breaking Elbie Nickel's record of 37. Miller currently ranks third in team history in receptions (408), seventh in yards (4,680) and is tied for fifth in receiving touchdowns (39).

Miller is the first Steelers tight end to be named team MVP.

The following is the list of Steelers MVPs since 1969:

1969 WR Roy Jeffeson 1991 LB Greg Lloyd
1970 DT Joe Greene 1992 RB Barry Foster
1971 LB Andy Russell 1993 CB Rod Woodson
1972 RB Franco Harris 1994 LB Greg Lloyd
1973 WR Ron Shanklin 1995 QB Neil O'Donnell
1974 S Glen Edwards 1996 RB Jerome Bettis
1975 CB Mel Blount 1997 RB Jerome Bettis
1976 LB Jack Lambert 1998 LB Levon Kirkland
1977 QB Terry Bradshaw 1999 LB Levon Kirkland
1978 QB Terry Bradshaw 2000 RB Jerome Bettis
1979 WR John Stallworth 2001 QB Kordell Stewart
1980 SS Donnie Shell 2002 WR Hines Ward
1981 LB Jack Lambert LB Joey Porter
1982 CB Dwayne Woodruff 2003 WR Hines Ward
1983 PK Gary Anderson 2004 LB James Farrior
1984 WR John Stallworth 2005 NT Casey Hampton
1985 WR Louis Lipps WR Hines Ward
1986 LB Bryan Hinkle 2006 RB Willie Parker
1987 LB Mike Merriweather 2007 LB James Harrison
1988 LB David Little 2008 LB James Harrison
CB Rod Woodson 2009 QB Ben Roethlisberger
1989 WR Louis Lipps 2010 SS Troy Polamalu
1990 CB Rod Woodson 2011 WR Antonio Brown
2012 TE Heath Miller

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content