Clark and Bailey Earn Honors


Clark and Bailey Earn Steelers' 2008 Pro Football Writers Awards
PITTSBURGH — *Steelers safety
Ryan Clarkand linebackerPatrick Baileywere named the 2008 recipients of the Pittsburgh chapter of Pro Football Writers of America's annual awards.
Clark was the recipient of the Pro Football Writers' "
Chief Award, presented annually to the member of the Steelers' organization who best exemplifies the spirit of cooperation with the media, which was established in honor of Steelers founder, Arthur J. Rooney, Sr.
Clark, a seven-year veteran, has a career-high 101 tackles on the season, which ranks second on the team. He is in his third season with the Steelers and has played and started in 13 games this year after missing the entire second half of 2007 with season-ending surgery. Clark's return has helped the Steelers rank first in the NFL in total defense, pass defense and scoring defense, while ranking second in rush defense. Clark has one interception on the year and seven pass defenses.
Bailey, who was signed as an undrafted rookie free agent out of Duke, was the winner of the "Joe Greene Great Performance Award", given to the outstanding Steelers' rookie. He ranks third (tied) on the team with 12 special teams tackles after starting the year on the team's practice squad. Bailey was promoted to the active roster on Sept. 20 and has played the past eight games on special teams.
A listing of the award winners include:
"The Chief Award" Winners:
1988           Dan Rooney                                          1999     Lee Flowers
1989           Dwayne Woodruff                                 2000     Jerome Bettis
1990           Merril Hoge                                           2001     Lee Flowers
1991           Gerald Williams                                     2002     Hines Ward
1992           Tunch Ilkin                                             2003     Mike Logan
1993           D.J. Johnson                                        2004     Jerome Bettis
1994           Rod Woodson                                      2005     Alan Faneca
1995           Levon Kirkland                                      2006     Brett Keisel
1996           Chad Brown                                                      Deshea Townsend
1997           Darren Perry                                          2007     Alan Faneca     
1998           Jerome Bettis                                        2008     Ryan Clark      

 "Joe Greene Great Performance Award" Winners:

1984           WR Louis Lipps                                     1997     CB Chad Scott
1985           P Harry Newsome                                  1998     OG Alan Faneca
1986           LB Anthony Henton                               1999     WR Troy Edwards
1987           CB Delton Hall                                      2000     FB Dan Kreider
1988           RB Warren Williams                               2001     LB Kendrell Bell
1989           SS Carnell Lake                                     2002     OG Kendall Simmons
1990           TE Eric Green                                        2003     S Troy Polamalu
1991           TE Adrian Cooper                                  2004     QB Ben Roethlisberger
1992           FS Darren Perry                                    2005     TE Heath Miller
1993           LB Chad Brown                                     2006     WR Santonio Holmes
1994           RB Bam Morris                                      2007     P Daniel Sepulveda
1995           QB Kordell Stewart                               2008     LB Patrick Bailey
1996           FB Jon Witman                                    

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content