Roethlisberger Selected Steelers 2009 MVP


Roethlisberger Selected Steelers' 2009 Most Valuable Player
PITTSBURGH — *Steelers' quarterback
Ben Roethlisberger* was recognized for his outstanding play by his teammates who voted him the team's Most Valuable Player. It was the first time in his six-year career that he has received the honor.
Roethlisberger has had a record-setting season in 2009, becoming the first quarterback in Steelers' history to throw for 4,000 yards in a season. He has completed 319 of 479 passes (66.6 percent) for 4,108 yards, 23 touchdowns, 12 interceptions and a 98.9 passer-rating. Roethlisberger ranks in the top five in the NFL in passing yards/single game (1st – 503), completion percentage (5th) and average gain/pass (2nd – 8.58).
Roethlisberger has set several Steelers' passing records for a single season in addition to throwing for his 4,000 yards, including the team's single-season record for completions (319), passing yards in a single game (503) and 300-yard passing games in a season (five). He was named AFC Offensive Player of the Week in Week 15 when he completed 29 of 46 passes (63.0 percent) for 503 yards, three touchdowns and a 121.9 passer-rating during a last-second 37-36 win over the Green Bay Packers.
Roethlisberger is the first Steelers' quarterback to win the team most valuable player honors since Kordell Stewart in 2001. This season marks the fifth time since 1969 that a Steelers' quarterback has been voted the team's most valuable player.
Following is the list of Steelers MVPs since 1969:

1969                WR          Roy Jefferson
1970                DT           Joe Greene
1971                LB            Andy Russell
1972                RB           Franco Harris
1973                WR          Ron Shanklin
1974                S              Glen Edwards
1975                CB           Mel Blount
1976                LB            Jack Lambert
1977                QB           Terry Bradshaw
1978                QB           Terry Bradshaw
1979                WR          John Stallworth
1980                SS           Donnie Shell
1981                LB            Jack Lambert
1982                CB           Dwayne Woodruff
1983                PK           Gary Anderson
1984                WR          John Stallworth
1985                WR          Louis Lipps
1986                LB            Bryan Hinkle
1987                LB            Mike Merriweather
1988                LB            David Little
                        CB           Rod Woodson
1989                WR          Louis Lipps           
1990                CB           Rod Woodson
1991                LB            Greg Lloyd
1992                RB           Barry Foster
1993                CB           Rod Woodson
1994                LB            Greg Lloyd
1995                QB           Neil O'Donnell
1996                RB           Jerome Bettis
1997                RB           Jerome Bettis
1998                LB            Levon Kirkland
1999                LB            Levon Kirkland
2000                RB           Jerome Bettis
2001                QB           Kordell Stewart
2002                WR          Hines Ward
                        LB            Joey Porter           
2003                WR          Hines Ward
2004                LB            James Farrior
2005                NT           Casey Hampton
                        WR          Hines Ward
2006                RB           Willie Parker
2007                LB            James Harrison
2008                LB            James Harrison
*2009                QB          Ben Roethlisberger                             *

– 30 –

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content