Farrior, Gilbert win PFWA awards

Steelers linebacker James Farrior and offensive tackle Marcus Gilbert were named the 2011 recipients of the Pittsburgh Chapter of Pro Football Writers of America's annual awards.

Farrior was the recipient of the Pro Football Writers' "The Chief Award", which was established in honor of Steelers' founder, Arthur J. Rooney, Sr. and presented annually to the member of the Steelers' organization who best exemplifies the spirit of cooperation with the media.

Farrior, in his 15th NFL season, has started 195 career games at linebacker, including 153 as a Steeler. In his 10 seasons with the Steelers, Farrior has compiled 1,200 tackles, 30 sacks, eight interceptions, 12 forced fumbles and 10 fumble recoveries. He has started 15 career postseason contests, recording 98 tackles, four sacks and two interceptions, helping to guide the Steelers to victories in Super Bowl XL and XLIII.

Gilbert, the Steelers' second round draft pick in 2011, was the winner of the "Joe Greene Great Performance Award", given to the outstanding Steelers' rookie. Gilbert has played in 13 games with 12 starts, which are the second-most starts of any offensive lineman. Gilbert has been instrumental in the success of the Steelers' offense, helping to pave the way for the Steelers' offense to gain more than 370 yards per game. This is the first time in team history that an offensive lineman (C Maurkice Pouncey, Gilbert) won the award in consecutive seasons.

A listing of the award winners include:

"The Chief Award" Winners:

1988 Dan Rooney 2001 Lee Flowers
1989 Dwayne Woodruff 2002 Hines Ward
1990 Merril Hoge 2003 Mike Logan
1991 Gerald Williams 2004 Jerome Bettis
1992 Tunch Ilkin 2005 Alan Faneca
1993 D.J. Johnson 2006 Brett Keisel
1994 Rod Woodson Deshea Townsend
1995 Levon Kirkland 2007 Alan Faneca
1996 Chad Brown 2008 Ryan Clark
1997 Darren Perry 2009 James Farrior
1998 Jerome Bettis 2010 Ben Roethlisberger
1999 Lee Flowers 2011 James Farrior
2000 Jerome Bettis

"Joe Greene Great Performance Award" Winners:

1984 WR Louis Lipps 1998 OG Alan Faneca
1985 P Harry Newsome 1999 WR Troy Edwards
1986 LB Anthony Henton 2000 FB Dan Kreider
1987 CB Delton Hall 2001 LB Kendrell Bell
1988 RB Warren Williams 2002 OG Kendall Simmons
1989 SS Carnell Lake 2003 S Troy Polamalu
1990 TE Eric Green 2004 QB Ben Roethlisberger
1991 TE Adrian Cooper 2005 TE Heath Miller
1992 FS Darren Perry 2006 WR Santonio Holmes
1993 LB Chad Brown 2007 P Daniel Sepulveda
1994 RB Bam Morris 2008 LB Patrick Bailey
1995 QB Kordell Stewart 2009 WR Mike Wallace
1996 FB Jon Witman 2010 C Maurkice Pouncey
1997 CB Chad Scott 2011 OT Marcus Gilbert

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content