Taylor a proud winner of "The Chief Award"

Cornerback Ike Taylor takes the job of talking to the media seriously. He never refuses an interview, never shies away from talking when things are going well, or not so well, approaching it the same way no matter what the circumstances.

That is why the Pittsburgh Chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America voted him this year's winner of the "Chief Award," established in honor of Steelers' founder, Arthur J. Rooney, Sr. and presented annually to the member of the Steelers' organization who best exemplifies the spirit of cooperation with the media that Rooney did.

"I understand what comes with the territory," said Taylor. "I understand where the reporters are coming from now that I have my own radio show. I take notes from them and understand what they are looking for and try to be available at all times.

"The radio show lets me know they have to write stories, they have to get their opinions out there, regardless of whether you like it or not. Talking to reporters good or bad comes with the territory."

Taylor isn't afraid to show a little bit of himself when he does interviews either, whether it's wearing a crazy Christmas hat like he did one day last week, having fun with the international media while the team was in London, or wearing his emotions on his sleeve like he did last week when Super Bowl XLV came up, Taylor wasn't afraid to admit, "I cried after that game."

It's those things and more that make him more than a deserving winner of the award.

"It's good for you to talk," said Taylor. "You start to get the credibility of being a standup guy. That is all you can ask for."

The award takes on extra special meaning for Taylor because it is named after Arthur J Rooney, Sr. Taylor has an extremely close relationship with Dan Rooney Sr., "The Chief's" son, so winning an award with the Rooney name on it brings great pride to Taylor.

"It's an honor, especially carrying the Rooney name, it representing Mr. (Dan) Rooney's dad," said Taylor. "I will put that on my resume. It means a whole lot to me." 

"The Chief Award" Winners:

1988 Dan Rooney 2001 Lee Flowers
1989 Dwayne Woodruff 2002 Hines Ward
1990 Merril Hoge 2003 Mike Logan
1991 Gerald Williams 2004 Jerome Bettis
1992 Tunch Ilkin 2005 Alan Faneca
1993 D.J. Johnson 2006 Brett Keisel
1994 Rod Woodson Deshea Townsend
1995 Levon Kirkland 2007 Alan Faneca
1996 Chad Brown 2008 Ryan Clark
1997 Darren Perry 2009 James Farrior
1998 Jerome Bettis 2010 Ben Roethlisberger
1999 Lee Flowers 2011 James Farrior
2000 Jerome Bettis 2012 Casey Hampton
2013 Ike Taylor

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.