Rooney's impact was far reaching

As a part of the NFL's 100th season the league recently highlighted the NFL 100 Greatest Plays, with Franco Harris' Immaculate Reception taking top honors, and the NFL 100 Greatest Games, where the Steelers were once again featured, and the NFL 100 Greatest Characters, highlighting Steelers players and coaches.

The NFL 100 Game Changers, players, coaches and front office personnel who were difference makers in the history of the league are now highlighted and late Steelers Chairman Dan Rooney is highlighted this week. Featured last week were Dick LeBeau, Bill Nunn and Mel Blount.

No. 29 Dan Rooney Sr.
President and Chairman (1955-2017)
Elected to Pro Football Hall of Fame: 2000

Dan Rooney Sr. was one of the NFL's most influential owners and a pivotal figure in the growth and development of the league. Throughout the years Rooney has been a member of the board of directors for the NFL Trust Fund, NFL Films, and the Scheduling Committee. He was appointed Chairman of the League's Expansion Committee in 1973, eventually adding Seattle and Tampa Bay to the NFL in 1976.

Rooney was named Chairman of the Negotiating Committee in 1976, and in 1982 he contributed to the negotiations for the Collective Bargaining Agreement for NFL owners and the Players Association. He brought a calm, reasonable approach to labor relations, and was a driving force in the labor agreement again in 1993. Rooney has also been a member of the Management Council Executive Committee, the Hall of Fame Committee, the NFL Properties Executive Committee, and the Player/Club Operations Committee. Rooney was enshrined into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2000. He served as the President of the Steelers from 1975 until 2003, when he turned it over to his son, Art Rooney II, and became the Chairman until his passing in April, 2017.

He spearheaded what is known as the Rooney Rule in 2003, which required NFL teams to interview a minority candidate for head coaching and senior football operation jobs. Rooney also served as the United States Ambassador to Ireland.

Related Content