DeCastro named NFL Way to Play recipient

For the second year, the NFL Way to Play award will continue to recognize the excellence demonstrated by NFL players who exemplify proper technique to make impactful plays. 

As announced on NFL Network's Good Morning Football, David DeCastro of the Pittsburgh Steelers is the Week 12 recipient of the 2019 NFL Way to Play Award.

Each recipient of the Way to Play Award will receive a $2,500 equipment grant through USA Football to be awarded to the local youth or high school football program of the player's choice.

The NFL Football Operations and Officiating departments will select the top nominees for the award recognizing current NFL players. Video of those plays will then be sent to an expert panel consisting of Merril Hoge, Ronnie Lott, Willie McGinest, Orlando Pave and Michael Robinson. 

Several NFL head coaches, current players and NFL Legends have created videos to assist in educating coaches and players. The videos provide coaching points of emphasis to execute proper technique and are to be used as an educational tool. 

The full list of 2019 NFL Way to Play Award recipients can be found below:

Table inside Article
Week Recipient Position NFL Team When Awarded
1 Zack Martin Guard Dallas Cowboys
2 Eric Weddle Safety Los Angeles Rams
3 Eric Weddle Safety Los Angeles Rams
4 Jermaine Whitehead Safety Cleveland Browns
5 Harrison Smith Safety Minnesota Vikings
6 Jaquiski Tartt Safety San Francisco 49ers
7 Quenton Nelson Center/Guard Indianapolis Colts
8 Jonathan Jones Defensive Back New England Patriots
9 Greg Van Roten Guard Carolina Panthers
10 Marshon Lattimore Cornerback New Orleans Saints
11 Jamal Carter Safety Atlanta Falcons
12 David DeCastro Guard Pittsburgh Steelers

Related Content