Skip to main content

Bell, Brown co-winners of POY award

Together, they helped the Steelers to an 11-5 record that was good enough to enable the team to win the AFC North Division, and they will be feted for their contributions together at the 45th Annual NFL 101 Awards.

For the first time in its 45-year history, the NFL 101 Awards will honor five outstanding players instead of four after voters named Le'Veon Bell and Antonio Brown as co-winners of the AFC Offensive Player of the Year award.

Texans defensive end J.J. Watt was voted AFC Defensive Player of the Year; Green Bay quarterback Aaron Rodgers is the NFC Offensive Player of the Year; and Seattle cornerback Richard Sherman is the NFC Defensive Player of the Year.

The coaches to be honored are Bill Belichick in the AFC and Bruce Arians in the NFC.

The black-tie gala is scheduled for Saturday, Feb. 28, at the Westin Crown Center in Kansas City, Mo.

Instituted in 1969, the NFL 101 Awards last recognized the contributions of a Steelers player in 2001 when Kordell Stewart won the AFC Offensive Player of the Year award. The only other Steelers player recognized in this category was Barry Foster, who won it in 1992 after rushing for 1,690 yards.

Eight different Steelers combined to win nine AFC Defensive Player of the Year awards, with Joe Greene doing it in 1972 and 1974. Mel Blount won in 1975; Jack Lambert in 1976; Rod Woodson in 1993; Greg Lloyd in 1994; Carnell Lake in 1997; James Harrison in 2008; and Troy Polamalu in 2010.

While Chuck Noll never was voted the AFC Coach of the Year, Bill Cowher was so honored in 1994.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.