Steelers 2021 team captains announced

They set the example. They lead by their actions, and often by their words. They are an ear to listen when one is needed. A voice to speak out when the moment is right.

They are dependable, on and off the field. They are the ones others watch in practice, in games and even in the locker room.

They are the ones, who quite simply, set the standard.

And that is why they were named the Steelers 2021 team captains.

Steelers' players voted on Monday for the captains and this year's team captains are Ben Roethlisberger on offense, Cameron Heyward on defense and Derek Watt on special teams.

Roethlisberger, who is in his 18th season, has been the team's offensive captain 13 times in his career, including 11consecutive seasons.

Heyward, who is in his 11th season, is a defensive captain for the seventh consecutive year.

This is the first time Watt has been voted the special teams captain, after joining the Steelers in 2020 as an unrestricted free agent and immediately making an impact on the unit.

Take a look at photos of the Steelers 2021 team captains

The following are the Steelers' team captains who have been selected during head coach Mike Tomlin's tenure (since 2007):

Table inside Article
2007Hines Ward, WRJames Farrior, LBJames Harrison, LB
Clint Kriewaldt, LB
2008Ben Roethlisberger, QBJames Farrior, LBJeff Reed, K
Hines Ward, WR
2009Ben Roethlisberger, QBJames Farrior, LBJeff Reed, K
Hines Ward, WRJames Harrison, LBKeyaron Fox, LB
2010Heath Miller, TEJames Farrior, LBKeyaron Fox, LB
Hines Ward, WR
2011Ben Roethlisberger, QBJames Farrior, LBArmaz Battle, WR
Hines Ward, WR
2012Ben Roethlisberger, QBBrett Keisel, DE
2013Ben Roethlisberger, QBRyan Clark, S
Maurkice Pouncey, CBrett Keisel, DE
2014Ben Roethlisberger, QBTroy Polamalu, SRobert Golden, S
Shaun Suisham, K
2015Ben Roethlisberger, QBWilliam Gay, CBRobert Golden, S
Cam Heyward, DE
2016Ben Roethlisberger, QBWilliam Gay, SRobert Golden, S
Cam Heyward, DE
2017Ben Roethlisberger, QBCam Heyward, DE
2018Ben Roethlisberger, QBCam Heyward, DEChris Boswell, K
Maurkice Pouncey, C
2019Ben Roethlisberger, QBCam Heyward, DERoosevelt Nix, FB
Maurkice Pouncey, C
2020Ben Roethlisberger, QBCam Heyward, DEJordan Dangerfield, S
Maurkice Pouncey, CT.J. Watt, LB
2021Ben Roethlisberger, QBCam Heyward, DEDerek Watt, FB

Take a look at photos of the Steelers team captains under head coach Mike Tomlin