OTAs, minicamp dates are set

The official start of football season is still months away, but the offseason program is almost ready to get rolling.

The NFL, under the Collective Bargaining Agreement, has divided the offseason into three phases, with it all kicking off for the Steelers on April 16. It will culminate with the team's mandatory minicamp, which will be held June 12-14.

The dates for Organized Team Activities (OTAs) are officially set, beginning May 22 and running through June 7.

Phase OnePlayers will return to the UPMC Rooney Sports Complex beginning on April 16 for Phase One. This phase, which is a two-week period, is limited to strength and conditioning and physical rehabilitation only.  

Phase Two
The next phase of the program starts on April 30 and runs for a three week period. During this time, according to the NFL, "on-field workouts may include individual player instruction and drills as well as team practice conducted on a 'separates' basis."  During this time there is no live contact or team offense vs. team defense going against each other. The Steelers can hold their three-day rookie minicamp during this phase, which can be held either the week or two weeks after the NFL Draft.  

Phase Three
Phase Three is OTAs phase. During this time, which officially begins on May 22 for the Steelers and runs for a total of four weeks, the Steelers will hold the 10 OTAs they are permitted to have. There is no live contact during OTAs, but the team can take part in 7-on-7, 9-on-7, and 11-on-11 drills. The team will also hold a veteran minicamp during this time, which will run from June 12-14.

Steelers OTAs schedule:

Tuesday, May 22 – OTA #1
Wednesday, May 23 – OTA #2
Thursday, May 24 – OTA #3
Tuesday, May 29 – OTA #4
Wednesday, May 30 – OTA #5
Thursday, May 31 – OTA #6
Monday, June 4 – OTA #7
Tuesday, June 5 – OTA #8
Wednesday, June 6 – OTA #9
Thursday, June 7 – OTA #10
Steelers Mandatory Minicamp:
Tuesday, June 12 – Day 1
Wednesday, June 13 – Day 2
Thursday, June 14 – Day 3

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Advertising