NFL announces NFL Sportsmanship Award

The NFL has announced NFL Sportsmanship Award, which will honor one outstanding player for sportsmanship on the field as determined by a vote of players.

Each team will nominate one of its players this season for the NFL Sportsmanship Award. A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community will select from the 32 nominees eight finalists (four in the AFC; four in the NFC).  The panel includes Warrick Dunn, Curtis Martin, Karl Mecklenburg and Leonard Wheeler.

The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award when the players vote on the Pro Bowl in December. Out of the eight finalists, each team's players will submit a consensus vote of its choice for the winner. As in Pro Bowl voting, a team cannot vote for its own player.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.