41 to attend rookie minicamp

There was a time, albeit before most of these guys were born, when attending an NFL rookie minicamp was a bargaining chip, a matter of some contention between agents and teams. But since the NFL adopted a system that tied free agency to a salary cap, the league and its players association have settled the issue to the degree where now it's more about the players who are permitted to attend a rookie minicamp.

Based on the current guidelines, the only eligible players are rookies and first-year players.

As per the Collective Bargaining Agreement, a rookie is any player who never has signed an NFL player contract, or who only has signed an NFL practice squad player contract. A first-year is one who has signed an NFL player contract but who does not yet have a season of pension credit. To receive a pension credit a player must spend three games on the active or inactive list, on injured reserve, or on PUP during the regular season or the postseason.

Based on those stipulations, the Steelers will have 41 players on hand for their 2013 Rookie Minicamp, a weekend's worth of meetings and on-field drills at their practice facility on Pittsburgh's South Side. Two of those 41 will be quarterbacks, with No. 4 pick Landry Jones figuring to attract most of the attention there.

The number of players breaks down into nine first-year guys and 32 rookies. The rookies are comprised of nine draft picks, 15 undrafted rookies, and eight more who will be in for the weekend on a tryout basis.

The nine first-year players are G Justin Cheadle, T Joe Long, NT Loni Fangupo, CB Isaiah Green, TE Jamie McCoy, OLB Marshall McFadden, WRs Kashif Moore and Derek Moye, and PK Daniel Hrapmann.

The eight players in for a weekend tryout include Purdue QB Caleb Terbush, West Virginia RB Ryan Clarke, West Virginia LB Terence Garvin, Pitt CB Jared Holley, Youngstown State TE Will Shaw, Virginia Tech DT Antoine Hopkins, UTEP S DeShawm Grayson, and Pitt S Andrew Taglianetti.

A complete rookie minicamp roster appears below:

2Daniel HrapmannK1Southern Mississippi
3Landry JonesQBROklahoma

Caleb TerbushQBRPurdue10Markus WheatonWRROregon State13Reggie DunnWRRUtah15Derek MoyeWR1Penn State17Justin BrownWRROklahoma17J.D. WoodsWRRWest Virginia19Kashif MooreWR1Connecticut26-DJared HolleyCBRPittsburgh26-OLe'Veon BellRBRMichigan State29Shamarko ThomasSRSyracuse30Terry HawthorneCBRIllinois38Andrew TaglianettiSRPittsburgh39-DIsaiah GreenCB1Fresno State39-OCurtis McNealRBFUSC40Marshall McFaddenLB1South Carolina State44Vince WilliamsLBRFlorida State45-DAlan BaxterLBRNorthern Illinois45-OWill ShawTERYoungstown State46-DDeShawn GraysonSRUTEP48Luke IngramLSRHawaii49-DTerence GarvinLBRWest Virginia49-ORyan ClarkeRBRWest Virginia51Ivory WadeCRBaylor61-ONik EmbernateGRSan Diego State67-DCordian HagansDERLA-Lafayette67-OMike Golic, Jr.OTRNotre Dame69-DBrian ArnfeltDERNorthwestern69-OJoe MadsenCRWest Virginia71-DOmar HunterDTRFlorida71-OMike FarrellOTRPenn State72-DJustin CheadleG1California72-0Anthony Rashad WhiteDTRMichigan State74Chris HubbardGRUAB79-DAntoine HopkinsDTRVirginia Tech79-OJoe LongOT1Wayne State (MI)82Jamie McCoyTE1Texas A&M91Nicholas WilliamsDERSamford92Hebron FangupoDT1Brigham Young95Jarvis JonesLBRGeorgia

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.