Another Steelers' coach hits 100 wins

Since 1969 the Steelers have had only three head coaches, and they are three coaches who have left their mark on the franchise, and continue to do so.

With the 27-20 victory over the Bills, Coach Mike Tomlin now has 100 career regualr season wins. He joins Hall of Fame Coach Chuck Noll and Bill Cowher as the third coach in Steelers history to reach 100 regular season wins, and the Steelers are the first franchise in NFL history to have three different head coaches reach that 100 win milestone. "We certainly have been fortunate to have three men like Chuck Noll, Bill Cowher and Mike Tomlin," said Steelers President Art Rooney II. "The fact that each of them had that kind of success is great to see, it's something we strive for. Stability is something that provides a foundation for everything you do.

"I think our whole organization is geared to support the coach, support the football operation in a way that allows it to be successful."

Noll, who coached from 1969-1991, tallied 193 career regular season wins, while Cowher had 149 wins, coaching from 1992-2006. Tomlin, who took over in 2007, has kept the winning tradition alive.

All three coaches also led their teams to Super Bowl victories – Noll (Super Bowl IX, X, XIII, XIV), Cowher (Super Bowl XL), and Tomlin (Super Bowl XLIII).

"We have been fortunate to have three great men like that leading the team," said Rooney. "That is where it starts. It's a tribute not just to them, but I am sure they would also point to the fact that they had a lot of great people around them to help achieve that success."


Tomlin eighth head coach in NFL history to reach 100 regular season wins within their first 10 seasons, joining Mike Ditka, Tony Dungy, Joe Gibbs, John Madden, Mike McCarthy, George Seifert and Don Shula.

Tomlin is also the ninth head coach in NFL history to reach 100 regular season wins within their first 10 seasons with one franchise, joining Bill Belichick (New England), Mike Ditka (Chicago), Joe Gibbs (Washington), John Madden (Oakland), Mike McCarthy (Green Bay), Marty Schottenheimer (Kansas City), Mike Shanahan (Denver) and Don Shula (Miami).

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.