Moats a nominee for Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

Arthur Moats is the Steelers nominee for the third annual Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award, presented to a player for his outstanding sportsmanship on the field, including fair play, respect for the game, and integrity in competition.

The award was created in 2014 to honor Art Rooney Sr., the founder of the Steelers and a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

"Art Rooney is an iconic figure in NFL history," said NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell at the time the award was introduced. "It is appropriate that we honor his legacy in this way and recognize NFL players for one of the important values that Mr. Rooney represented so well."

Moats is a player who is respected by his teammates, as well as opponents, for his style of play, passion for the game and strong work ethic.

One player from every team was nominated for the award, and eight finalists, four in each conference, will be selected by members of the NFL Legends Community, including Warrick Dunn, Curtis Martin, Karl Mecklenburg and Leonard Wheeler.

Current players will have the final say when the eight appear on their Pro Bowl ballot under NFL Sportsmanship Award. The winner is announced during the NFL Honors show on Saturday, Feb. 4.

The winner will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice and the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Trophy, which represents the key role sportsmanship plays in the game and how NFL players who demonstrate integrity and honor on the field serve as role models.

"It is gratifying that sportsmanship is the category," said Steelers President Art Rooney II when the award was announced in 2014. "It's appropriate. I like to think of my grandfather as someone who truly was a good sport, somebody who cared about the respect and the integrity of the game. The fact it's being voted on by the players, well, the recipient can feel good about it because it's voted on by his peers."


Arizona CardinalsDT Calais Campbell
Atlanta FalconsFB Patrick DiMarco
Baltimore RavensG Marshal Yanda
Buffalo BillsDT Kyle Williams
Carolina PanthersTE Greg Olsen
Chicago BearsLB Sam Acho
Cincinnati BengalsWR A.J. Green
Cleveland BrownsT Joe Thomas
Dallas CowboysCB Brandon Carr
Denver BroncosLB DeMarcus Ware
Detroit LionsS Glover Quin
Green Bay PackersLB Julius Peppers
Houston TexansLB Brian Cushing
Indianapolis ColtsRB Frank Gore
Jacksonville JaguarsLB Paul Posluszny
Kansas City ChiefsLB Derrick Johnson
Los Angeles RamsDE Robert Quinn
Miami DolphinsT Branden Albert
Minnesota VikingsCB Terence Newman
New England PatriotsS Devin McCourty
New Orleans SaintsT Zach Strief
New York GiantsWR Victor Cruz
New York JetsWR Brandon Marshall
Oakland RaidersQB Derek Carr
Philadelphia EaglesRB Darren Sproles
Pittsburgh SteelersLB Arthur Moats
San Diego ChargersQB Philip Rivers
San Francisco 49ersT Joe Staley
Seattle SeahawksWR Tyler Lockett
Tampa Bay BuccaneersDT Gerald McCoy
Tennessee TitansQB Marcus Mariota
Washington RedskinsQB Kirk Cousins

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content