Hampton, Adams earn PFWA Awards

Steelers nose tackle Casey Hampton and offensive tackle Mike Adams were named the 2012 recipients of the Pittsburgh Chapter of Pro Football Writers of America's annual award.

Hampton was the recipient of the Pro Football Writers' "The Chief Award", which was established in honor of Steelers' founder, Arthur J. Rooney, Sr. and presented annually to the member of the Steelers' organization who best exemplifies the spirit of cooperation with the media.

Hampton, in his 12th season with the Steelers, has started 163 career games at nose tackle, including all 15 this year. In his career, he has compiled 401 tackles with 9.5 sacks, four forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries. Hampton, a three-time Pro Bowl selection, started for the Steelers in three Super Bowls (XL, XLIII and XLV) and was named to the Steelers' 75th Season All-Time Team during the 2007 season.

Adams, the Steelers' second round draft pick in 2012, was the winner of the "Joe Greene Great Performance Award", given to the outstanding Steelers' rookie. Adams has started six of the 10 games he has played in this year but has missed the past four games with a left ankle injury. Adams' selection marks the third straight season an offensive lineman (C Maurkice Pouncey, OT Marcus Gilbert) has won the award.

A listing of the award winners include:

"The Chief Award" Winners:

1988Dan Rooney2001Lee Flowers
1989Dwayne Woodruff2002Hines Ward
1990Merril Hoge2003Mike Logan
1991Gerald Williams2004Jerome Bettis
1992Tunch Ilkin2005Alan Faneca
1993D.J. Johnson2006Brett Keisel
1994Rod WoodsonDeshea Townsend
1995Levon Kirkland2007Alan Faneca
1996Chad Brown2008Ryan Clark
1997Darren Perry2009James Farrior
1998Jerome Bettis2010Ben Roethlisberger
1999Lee Flowers2011James Farrior
2000Jerome Bettis2012Casey Hampton

"Joe Greene Great Performance Award" Winners:

1984WR Louis Lipps1998OG Alan Faneca
1985P Harry Newsome1999WR Troy Edwards
1986LB Anthony Henton2000FB Dan Kreider
1987CB Delton Hall2001LB Kendrell Bell
1988RB Warren Williams2002OG Kendall Simmons
1989SS Carnell Lake2003S Troy Polamalu
1990TE Eric Green2004QB Ben Roethlisberger
1991TE Adrian Cooper2005TE Heath Miller
1992FS Darren Perry2006WR Santonio Holmes
1993LB Chad Brown2007P Daniel Sepulveda
1994RB Bam Morris2008LB Patrick Bailey
1995QB Kordell Stewart2009WR Mike Wallace
1996FB Jon Witman2010C Maurkice Pouncey
1997CB Chad Scott2011

OT Marcus Gilbert2012OT Mike Adams

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content