Gay nominated for Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award


Cornerback William Gay is the Steelers nominee for the second annual Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award, presented to a player for his outstanding sportsmanship on the field, including fair play, respect for the game, and integrity in competition.

The award was created in 2014 to honor Art Rooney Sr., the founder of the Steelers and a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Check out the best photos of CB Will Gay.

"Art Rooney is an iconic figure in NFL history," said NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell at the time the award was introduced. "It is appropriate that we honor his legacy in this way and recognize NFL players for one of the important values that Mr. Rooney represented so well."

Gay is a player that exemplifies what the Steelers are about…a tough, rugged player who respects the game and what it stands for.

One player from every team was nominated for the award, and eight finalists, four in each conference, will be selected by members of the NFL Legends Community, including Warrick Dunn, Curtis Martin, Karl Mecklenburg and Leonard Wheeler.  

Current players will have the final say when the eight appear on their Pro Bowl ballot under NFL Sportsmanship Award. The winner is announced during the NFL Honors show on Saturday, Feb. 6.

The winner will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice and the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Trophy, which represents the key role sportsmanship plays in the game and how NFL players who demonstrate integrity and honor on the field serve as role models.

"It is gratifying that sportsmanship is the category," said Steelers President Art Rooney II when the award was announced in 2014. "It's appropriate. I like to think of my grandfather as someone who truly was a good sport, somebody who cared about the respect and the integrity of the game. The fact it's being voted on by the players, well, the recipient can feel good about it because it's voted on by his peers."

A complete list of the 32 nominees is below. 2015 ART ROONEY SPORTSMANSHIP AWARD NOMINEES

Arizona Cardinals DT Calais Campbell
Atlanta Falcons CB Desmond Trufant
Baltimore Ravens RB Justin Forsett
Buffalo Bills QB Tyrod Taylor
Carolina Panthers LB Luke Kuechly
Chicago Bears RB Matt Forté
Cincinnati Bengals LB Vinny Rey
Cleveland Browns QB Josh McCown
Dallas Cowboys LB Sean Lee
Denver Broncos WR Demaryius Thomas
Detroit Lions WR Calvin Johnson
Green Bay Packers LB Julius Peppers
Houston Texans T Duane Brown
Indianapolis Colts QB Matt Hasselbeck
Jacksonville Jaguars DT Sen'Derrick Marks
Kansas City Chiefs LB Derrick Johnson
Miami Dolphins DT Earl Mitchell
Minnesota Vikings LB Chad Greenway
New England Patriots T Nate Solder
New Orleans Saints TE Benjamin Watson
New York Giants RB Rashad Jennings
New York Jets LB David Harris
Oakland Raiders S Charles Woodson
Philadelphia Eagles LB DeMeco Ryans
Pittsburgh Steelers CB William Gay
San Diego Chargers QB Philip Rivers
San Francisco 49ers T Joe Staley
Seattle Seahawks WR Jermaine Kearse
St. Louis Rams DT Aaron Donald
Tampa Bay Buccaneers DT Gerald McCoy
Tennessee Titans CB Jason McCourty
Washington Redskins RB Alfred Morris

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content