Faneca named 2016 Pro Football Hall of Fame nominee


Quarterback Brett Favre, who retired as the National Football League's all-time leader in nearly every passing category, along with wide receiver Terrell Owens, guard Alan Faneca and safety Lawyer Milloy headline a list of first-time eligible Modern Era nominees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2016. The group also includes all the finalists from last year who were not elected. Those nominees are: kicker Morten Andersen, coaches Don Coryell, Tony Dungy and Jimmy Johnson; running back Terrell Davis, linebacker/defensive end Kevin Greene, wide receiver Marvin Harrison, safety John Lynch, tackle Orlando Pace and quarterback Kurt Warner.

Check out the greatest photos of Pittsburgh Steelers guard Alan Faneca.

The list of Modern Era nominees includes a total of 108 individuals under consideration for election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame as part of the Class of 2016. The nominees consist of 93 players (51 offense, 33 defense, 9 special teams) and 15 coaches. The Modern Era nominees will be trimmed to 25 semifinalists in November and, from there, to 15 finalists in January.

Eighteen finalists will be presented to the full 46-member Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee during its annual selection meeting on the eve of Super Bowl 50. The finalists will consist of 15 Modern Era finalists, the recently named senior candidates, Ken Stabler and Dick Stanfel, and 2016 contributor candidate Edward DeBartolo, Jr.

The Selection Committee will meet on Saturday, February 6, 2016 in San Francisco to elect the Class of 2016. While there is no set number for any class of enshrinees, the selection process by-laws provide that between four and eight new members will be selected.

The Senior finalists and Contributor finalist will be voted "yes" or "no" for election at the annual selection meeting and must receive at least 80 percent support from the Committee to be elected. The Modern Era finalists will be trimmed during the meeting from 15 to 10 and then from 10 to 5. The remaining five finalists will be voted on individually, "yes" or "no" and must receive the same 80 percent positive vote as the seniors and contributor candidates to earn election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame. The Class of 2016 will be announced during the "NFL Honors" nationally broadcast award show that evening.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2016 will be formally enshrined on Saturday, August 6, 2016. The enshrinement is one of three marquee events held in Tom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium during the Enshrinement Weekend along with the Concert for Legends and the NFL/Hall of Fame Game.

The annual Enshrinement Ceremony is televised nationally by the Hall of Fame's broadcast partners, NFL Network and ESPN.

Modern Era Nominees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2016 who spent time with the Steelers include: *
*Alan Faneca (G)

Kevin Greene (LB & DE)
Levon Kirkland (LB)
Mike Vrabel (LB)
Gary Anderson (K)
Bill Cowher (Coach)
Tony Dungy (Coach)
Buddy Parker (Coach)

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content