Skip to main content

Brown presented NFL 101 Award

Antonio Brown was honored at the NFL 101 Awards in Kansas City. Brown was named their 2017 AFC Offensive Player of the Year.

This is the second time that Brown was honored by the organization. Brown, and teammate Le'Veon Bell, were named co-AFC Offensive Players of the Year in 2014, the first time there were co-winners.

Brown finished the regular season with 101 receptions for an NFL high 1,533 yards, a 15.2 yard per catch average, and nine touchdowns. He averaged 109.5 yards per game through the first 14 games of the season, missing the final two due to injury.

"If you look at what he's able to do and what he is capable of every week it's just something spectacular and I am happy to be a part of it and to do my little part because it is so fun to watch him," said Ben Roethlisberger. "He's special. AB is not human."

Brown had eight 100-yard receiving games this season, the most in the NFL, and recorded 10 catches or more in six games, the most by any NFL player this season.  

"He has big play written all over him and it can happen at any time," said John Stallworth. "With Antonio you have a big play waiting to happen any time he touches the ball, whether it's a short pass or a long pass, catching a short one and turning it into a big one. He is a big play ready to happen. He is somebody opposing defenses have to take into account and believe me he probably scares the dickens out of them."

Brown was a unanimous Associated Press All-Pro selection, the highest honor a player can receive. This is the fourth consecutive year Brown was named first-team AP All-Pro. He was also voted Steelers MVP for the fourth time in his career, and selected to the Pro Bowl for the sixth time.

Former Steelers quarterback Kordell Stewart (2001) and running back Barry Foster (1992) are previous winners of the NFL 101 AFC Offensive Player of the Year, while Troy Polamalu (2010), James Harrison (2008), Carnell Lake (1997), Greg Lloyd (1994), Rod Woodson (1993), Jack Lambert (1976), Mel Blount (1975), and Joe Greene (1972, 74) are previous winners of the NFL 101 AFC Defensive Player of the Year. Bill Cowher won NFL 101 AFC Coach of the Year in 1994.

The award is chosen by a national selection committee that includes 101 sportswriters and broadcasters that cover the NFL.

The full list of award winners are:AFC Offensive Player of the Year - Antonio Brown, Pittsburgh Steelers
NFC Offensive Player of the Year – Todd Gurley, Los Angeles Rams
AFC Defensive Player of the Year - Calais Campbell, Jacksonville Jaguars
NFC Defensive Player of the Year - Aaron Donald, Los Angeles Rams
AFC Coach of the Year - Doug Marrone, Jacksonville Jaguars
NFC Coach of the Year - Sean McVay, Los Angeles Rams

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.