Foster proud to win 'The Chief Award'


I stopped Ramon Foster one day and asked him if he had a minute to talk about an upcoming game. He smiled and said 'Of course.' Foster not only gave me more than that minute I asked for, but he also offered insight, perspective and honesty.

Check out the best photos of G Ramon Foster.

It didn't surprise me at all, because that is the type of person he is. And that is also the reason the Pittsburgh Chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America selected Foster as this year's winner of "The Chief Award." The award was established in honor of Steelers' founder Arthur J. Rooney, Sr. and presented annually to the member of the Steelers' organization who best exemplifies the spirit of cooperation with the media that Rooney did.

"It's an honor," said Foster of winning the award named after Art Rooney Sr. "To be in the position where it is easy to talk to the media, and use it as a platform to say what you need to in a positive light means a lot."

Foster, in his seventh season with the Steelers, has become a member of the media himself in a way. He has written pieces for this year, and also has a regular segment on 93.7 The Fan radio station in Pittsburgh. It's something he has said he would like to do after football, and is getting a start on it now and it's helped him understand how important talking to the media is.

Foster exemplifies what Art Rooney Sr. is about in more ways than just talking to the media, though. He takes pride in what he does, does it with class and respect for the game, and gives his full effort every time out. He is humble, not one to seek out an award or attention, but one who is always willing to stand up in victory or defeat.

"That is part of it," said Foster. "That is part of this business, being able to talk in the bad times and the good times. It's something you have to grow into doing and be accountable."

"The Chief Award" Winners:

1988 Dan Rooney 2002 Hines Ward
1989 Dwayne Woodruff 2003 Mike Logan
1990 Merril Hoge 2004 Jerome Bettis
1991 Gerald Williams 2005 Alan Faneca
1992 Tunch Ilkin 2006 Brett Keisel/Deshea Townsend
1993 D.J. Johnson 2007 Alan Faneca
1994 Rod Woodson 2008 Ryan Clark
1995 Levon Kirkland 2009 James Farrior
1996 Chad Brown 2010 Ben Roethlisberger
1997 Darren Perry 2011 James Farrior
1998 Jerome Bettis 2012 Casey Hampton
1999 Lee Flowers 2013 Ike Taylor
2000 Jerome Bettis 2014 Cam Heyward
2001 Lee Flowers 2015 Ramon Foster

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.