Skip to main content

Bell, Brown accept NFL 101 Award

Steelers' running back Le'Veon Bell and wide receiver Antonio Brown were honored over the weekend at the 45th Annual NFL 101 Awards in Kansas City.

Top photos of wide receiver Antonio Brown.

Bell and Brown were co-winners of the AFC Offensive Player of the Year award, the first time in history that there were co-winners, and received their award from former Steelers running back Merril Hoge. It was also the first time since 2006 when LaDainian Tomlinson won it that a quarterback didn't win the award, and the second time since 1998 that a non-quarterback won the award.

Bell, the Steelers 2014 MVP, had 290 carries for 1,361 yards, a 4.7 yard average, and eight touchdowns last season. Bell set a Steelers' record in 2014 with 2,215 yards from scrimmage, finishing second in the NFL in that category.

Bell also set a single season record for running backs in receptions with 83 and receiving yards with 854. Bell set a record with the most first downs in a season with 114 and rushed for the fifth-most yards (1,361) in a single season in team history.

"This is an honor to win this award. I've got to be thankful to the national committee for voting me in," said Bell. "Obviously I can't do everything by myself. You've got the guy to my left (Brown) making plays on the outside. Ben throwing the ball and most importantly the offensive line up front making holes for me and allowing me to do what I can in the open field. It's a total team effort and I am glad I am a part of the Pittsburgh Steelers organization.  God bless and thank you for everything.

Brown, who was selected to his third Pro Bowl this year, recorded at least one reception in 72 straight games in which he played, and set a single season team record with 129 receptions and 1,698 receiving yards in 2014 while leading the NFL in receiving.

The top photos of RB Le'Veon Bell who was voted as the Steelers'2014 MVP by his teammates.

"I am thankful to the national committee for voting myself and my teammate for this award," said Brown. "We couldn't do it without our quarterback, Ben (Roethlisberger), and the other 10 guys on the field. I am extremely disappointed Ben is not here with us today. He gets us started up front and that is where everything starts. The young one there (Bell) is a really exciting player. I wouldn't want to share it with anyone else."

Former Steelers quarterback Kordell Stewart (2001) and running back Barry Foster (1992) are previous winners of the award, while Troy Polamalu (2010), James Harrison (2008), Carnell Lake (1997), Greg Lloyd (1994), Rod Woodson (1993), Jack Lambert (1976), Mel Blount (1975), and Joe Greene (1972, 74) are previous winners of the AFC Defensive Player of the Year. Bill Cowher won AFC Coach of the Year in 1994.

The award is chose by a national selection committee that includes 101 sportswriters and broadcasters that cover the NFL.
The full list of award winners are:AFC Offensive Player of the Year - Antonio Brown & Le'Veon Bell, Pittsburgh Steelers
NFC Offensive Player of the Year - Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay Packers
AFC Defensive Player of the Year - J.J. Watt, Houston Texans
NFC Defensive Player of the Year - Richard Sherman, Seattle Seahawks
AFC Coach of the Year - Bill Belichick, New England Patriots
NFC Coach of the Year - Bruce Arians, Arizona Cardinals
Lamar Hunt Award for Professional Football - Paul Tagliabue

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.